February 7, 2012

February 7, 2012
Spouse, Trustee and Past-Chair Night

Mo’s….A Place for Steaks
1801 Post Oak Blvd
Houston, TX   77056

5:30            Cocktails & passed appetizers
6:45            Dinner
7:30            Presentation

Pre-register and pre-pay                       $ 45.00
Pre-register and pay at door                 $ 50.00
Walk ins                                                 $ 55.00
Retirees                                                 $ 20.00
Spouses/Guests, Past Chairs & Students –  no charge.
Fee includes 2 drink tickets.

Register for the Meeting

Topic: Public Electrical Safety

This lecture is intended for home or workplace situations and was created to provide an overview of electricity and an awareness about electrical safety in various situations. The lecture will cover such topics as Electricity Basics – The Properties of Electricity, Important Facts about Electricity, The Anatomy of an Electric System, Hazards and Safety Precautions and How to Respond to Electrical Emergencies.

Speaker: Mr. John J. Letcavits — Trustee (2009-2012)

J.J. Letcavits is a Senior Engineer at the Steam Generation Engineering/Mechanical Engineering Division of American Electric Power (AEP), based in Columbus, Ohio.

Letcavits is responsible for the inspection of fans, air heaters, pulverizers, steam generators and other boiler-related equipment as well as combustion side emission control related equipment.

He has more than 25 years of experience in engineering and project management/development and has received three patents for his work with developing a low-cost combustion emission control system for roof-fired units.

In addition to managing many AEP projects that have ranged in size up to$15 million, Letcavits has led several committees within ASM as a volunteer, including the ASM Chapter Council and the Volunteerism Committee. A past chairman of the Columbus Chapter, he holds a bachelor’s degree in mechanical engineering from Lafayette College and is a Professional Engineer in the State of Ohio.

Thanks to our sponsors: Materion Brush Performance Alloys, Special Quality Alloys, Latrobe Steel, Precision Surfaces International, Advanced High Technology Materials, Durum, Timken

Register for the Meeting